Marco Durante – 2023 Kaplan Award Winner

The Henry S. Kaplan Distinguished Scientist Award was established in 1985 by the International Association for Radiation Research (IARR). Nominations are submitted and a committee choices an awardee who exhibits outstanding contributions to radiation research in the fields of biology, chemistry, medicine or physics. The award is given out every 4 years and consists of a medal, certificate and a cash prize.

This year, we are happy to congratulate Marco Durante as the 2023 winner. Professor Durante is the Director of the Biophysics Department at GSI Helmholtz Center for Heavy Ion Research. He also sits on the board of the International Journal of Radiation Biology (IJRB) as an Associate Editor. IJRB has supported this award by contributing to the cash prize since the first award was given out in 1987. We are happy to continue to support future winners

Previous Awardees:

Mortimer M. Elkind – 1987

H. Rodney Withers – 1991

Gerald Edward Adams – 1995

John B Little – 1999

Eric J Hall – 2003*

Martin Brown – 2007

Richard Hill – 2011**

Ohtsura Niwa – 2015

Dudley Goodhead – 2019**

* IJRB Board Member

** Former IJRB Editor in Chief

Have your say!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.